Any workflow from your list (based on templates or new) can be modified to better fit your needs.

To edit a workflow, select its entry and click on "Edit " → The workflow will be opened in editor mode.


Careful when editing an active workflow, highlighted by a "Used in Service" naming indicator. Changes saved will immediately impact your service team.

We therefore recommend to:

  • .. .perform and test workflow changes outside of your service opening hours.
    or
  • ... work on an unused workflow first and activate it within the Service Settings once you are satisfied with the configuration.

General Concepts and UI Elements

The workflow editor consists of the following UI elements

ElementDescription

List of workflow elements (Activities) 
and
Search Field

Lists all available workflow elements which you can drag and drop into the workflow area.

(lightbulb) You can use the search to narrow down the list of workflow elements

Workflow area (canvas)
with
View Pan and Zoom controls

Allows you to rearrange, connect and configure workflow activities.

(lightbulb) You can zoom and pan within the canvas by using your mouse wheel and drag and drop. 

(lightbulb) Alternatively you can use the pan and zoom controls located at the top left for fine adjustments.

Adding Workflow Activities

Once you are in editing mode you can drag and drop workflow activities from the list of activities onto the canvas. 

To remove any activity, click on the delete button 

Related Topics

  • While editing you might want to refer to the List of Workflow Activities to get the most out of your workflows.
  • You can use existing templates as base for editing. Look at our existing Workflow Templates Template for inspiration.
  • Some Activities rely on Workflow Resources which are managed per team in the Service Settings.

(lightbulb) Every workflow activity needs to be connected with at least one node in order for the workflow to be valid. Some activities have multiple exit nodes and may offer options for each node accordingly.

(warning) Note that an activity step deletion will also remove any connectors of the selected and related activities. Make sure to check and re-establish these connections afterwards.

Adding and removing a workflow activity

Connectors - Nodes and Edges

An activity can have several entry and exit points towards other activities. These nodes are signaled with a white dot that changes your cursor on mouse-over. 

Activity with a connector node

To connect an activity, simply mouse over the connector, then click and drag towards the next activity.  → A connection (edge) will be created between the activities. 

(lightbulb) You may repeat this step with further nodes as needed. You can also move connected activities around. A node connection will remain until you delete the edge using the delete icon 

Activity Properties / Activity Enable

Some activities have a toggle to be completely enabled or disabled. They also have additional properties to unfold and configure via the property header.

(lightbulb)A disabled workflow activity will act as if the step does not exist. The node to node connection (edge) will pass right through.

Expanding an activity and setting it active