Stratus tenant admins are responsible for user creation and removal. Team administrators are capable of managing team membership out of a pool of predefined users, but cannot add new users to the System.

When logged in as a tenant admin, open the sidebar and click on "Users".  
Existing users are listed (if any have been defined previously).

Instruction Video

Add New users

To add a new user to Stratus Teams...

  1. Click on "Add New
    → A "User Details" Tab is opened on the right side

  2. Start by filing in a name, SIP address, UPN or other identifying name. → The system will begin searching through your user directory for matching entries.
    (info) The Azure AD and synchronization with your local on-prem AD is part of Installation and Setup.
    (question) Can't find any users in the search? Ask your administrator if there are any Active Directory related issues and if the user name and / or SIP address are correct

  3. Optionally fill in a "First Name" and "Last Name" for your new user. This is used for Stratus Internal identification e.g. in Teams and User Lists. It is not required or used on a system level.
  4. Selected a Tenant under which this user shall be made available. Note that all team administrators within the respective chosen tenant's hierarchy will be able to see this user for team selection.
  5. Fill in a unique SIP address for that user, e.g. "sip:john.doe@luware.net"

  6. Fill in the User Principal Name (UPN), usually an Email address identical to the SIP but without any prefix, e.g. "john.doe@luware.net"
  7. Optionally fill in an "Email Address" - e.g. when UPN is not an Email address and you want to specify how to reach that user
  8. Optionally fill in a "SAM ID"  (SAM-Account-Name) for older operating systems
  9. Once complete click on "Save" to create the new user
    → Any added user will be immediately searchable and can be added to any team under the respective tenant.


On User "Activation"

Note that by default users are set to "Inactive" thus not selectable for Stratus service calls. "Inactive" is a default setting which can be configured by Luware when Customizing Services. Usually this is configured when the Service was first created.

If the user is set to "Active" right after creation, it's automatically active when added to any team under the tenant / OU specified for that user. For that reason we highly recommend to manually activate users when Managing Team Members as team administrator or when Customizing Services as tenant admin during the preparation of the team for the first time.

(info) The flag displayed during new user creation is highlighting what the new user's default activity status will be when Managing Team Members or Customizing Services,

Edit or Remove Users

  • To edit a user, simply select the entry from the list, make adjustments and click "Save". 
  • To remove a user, simply select the user entry and click "Remove" and confirm the deletion intent.

User page controls

Edit User Role and Activity State

After adding new users you need to assign them to teams and optionally elevate them to act as team admin. When users are already part of a team, you can change their team admin role and active status (see related Your Team Choicevia "Users > Team Membership" panel as explained in the steps below.

(tick) Precondition: For the following steps, new users need to be added from a "per-team perspective" when assigning Activated Teams Management. This needs to be done by a tenant admin.

To edit a users team membership and status...

  1. Open the "Users" view in the left menu
  2. Select the user you want to configure
    → The details for that user are shown
  3. Click on "Team Membership" Tab
    → The teams on which this user is part of are listed
  4. Optionally you can now: 
    1. Set the user as active in that team (selectable for calls). 
      (lightbulb) You can also use the "Set Active" and "Set Inactive" buttons to immediately set all states for that user at the same time.
    2. Elevate the user to be team admin.

      User Team Membership
  5. Save your choices (or discard changes)


Note that any changes you make and save for a user will be visible to all Stratus users and team admins that have view permissions for that same user. There are no individual role overrides or presence states per user. Accordingly, the corresponding team membership and team presence update their state after you save changes within the "Users" panel.

(warning) The User Interface page refresh occurs when you refresh the browser page, so visual mismatch of states may occur temporarily. For example: When your team admin changes your Team presence from within his Stratus team membership view to "Active", your personal "Home" tab might still show you as "Inactive" until your browser is refreshed.

(lightbulb) When two users commit changes to any (same) element at almost the same point in time, the latest "Save" will reflect the valid new state.