☝ Note of third-party cookie restriction: In 2024 Google Chrome started restricting third-party cookies “by default for 1% of Chrome users to facilitate testing, and then plans to ramp up to 100% of users in H2 2024.” Other browser vendors are likely to follow suit with similar policies.
✅For Tenant Administrators: Most Enterprise users should be excluded from the 1% experiment group. However, Luware recommends that admins proactively use the BlockThirdPartyCookies and CookiesAllowedForUrls policies in Chrome to avoid sign-in issues, as described in this MS “Teams doesn't load” help article reference.
Add the following sites to the third party cookie exception list:
[*.]microsoft.com
[*.]microsoftonline.com
[*.]teams.skype.com
[*.]teams.microsoft.com
[*.]sfbassets.com
[*.]skypeforbusiness.com
[*.]luware.cloud🤔 What are the risk scenarios?
Not following the recommendations by Google involves a risk that Nimbus stops working in Chrome (or other default browsers) when the Nimbus App is launched embedded via MS Teams.
- MS Teams client in your browser: A likely cookie-related risk scenario occurs as you launch launch the Nimbus App or Nimbus Teams Tabs. This triggers a user authentication using 3rd party cookies.
- MS Teams standalone client: Microsoft claims that Nimbus should continue working in the client. Furthermore, Nimbus standalone tab will open and work when "Open app in browser tab" link is used.
To avoid either scenario, we recommend whitelisting cookie-exceptions in your browsers so that Teams can continue continue working with Nimbus. To allow (whitelist) specific URLs in your browser, refer to the steps described in this MS “Teams doesn't load” help article reference.
🤔 What are the effects/problems?
We identified the following issues in regards to cookie-related authentication:
- Warning at startup - A warning message is shown every time when the user start Nimbus in Teams. It seems it's a general error in case of the third party cookies are blocked.
- Authentication popup issue - Returns a Cancelled By User error even if the authentication was not cancelled by user.