Workflow Editing

Nimbus has a workflow editor which allows you to customize your caller flow with various building blocks called Workflow Activities.

To open the editor, either click "Edit" on any existing workflow or "Create" a new one.

EDITING A WORKFLOW ALREADY IN USE

Caution - Workflows can also be edited while being used in your (productive) services. Changes saved to such a workflow will immediately reflect in your service team on the next incoming call.

→ Check the highlighted "Used in Service" column to see which services are affected by a workflow change.


💡 To avoid any issues during your productive hours, we recommend the following:

  • Perform and test workflow changes outside of your service opening hours.
  • Work on workflow copies – once you are satisfied with the configuration – apply them within the Service Settings of the respective service(s).
  • Alternatively, create some "Test Services" to try out changes, which is especially useful in testing more creative or complex scenarios.
 

Workflow Editor Overview

The workflow editor consists of the following UI elements : 

Element Description UI example
Workflow Naming / Details

Shows the Workflow Name as it will be shown in other listings, e.g. the Modality Service Settings or the list of Workflows.

🔍 As an admin you can change the Organization Unit placement of this workflow. Existing services can still use it, but may not see the workflow available in listings anymore.

🔍 If your workflow is based on a Workflow Template this is also shown here. Note that changes on the template may reflect back on your workflow (e.g. by locking elements or the entire structure).

💡 Good to know: The name of a workflow can be changed without issue and without impact on any templates or services.

 

An Overview of the Workflow Editor
List of Workflow Activities
and Search Field

Lists all available Workflow Activities which you can drag and drop into the workflow area.

💡 You can use the search to narrow down the list of workflow elements

🔍 Pease note that certain activities are licensed Nimbus Features and can only be used by certain Service types when they have the according license applied.

Workflow Editing Area (canvas)
with
View Pan and Zoom controls

The Workflow Editing Area allows you to rearrange, connect and configure workflow activities.

💡 You can zoom and pan within the canvas by using your mouse wheel and left-click drag and drop. 

💡 Alternatively you can use the pan and zoom controls located at the top left for fine adjustments.

Activity connectors

Used to connect and disconnect activities. → Also see chapters below.

💡 Your start also needs to be connected to an activity such as "Accept Conversation" or your workflow will not work.

🔍 Certain activities have required predecessory. See our list of Workflow Activities for details.

Activity properties

Various toggles, selectors, form fields and other control elements. 

🔍 Properties may appear locked against editing, inherited from the Workflow Template.

Editing Area Naviation A small unfoldable mini-preview which can be clicked on for fast navigation. Useful to navigate particularly large workflows.

Adding Workflow Activities

  • To add an activity, drag and drop it from the list of activities onto the canvas. 
  • To remove any activity, click on its delete button. ☝ Note that any settings made to that item are lost.

Adding and removing a workflow activity
 

Connectors - Nodes and Edges

An activity can have several entry and exit points towards other activities. These nodes are signaled with a white dot that changes your cursor on mouse-over. 

  • To connect an activity, simply mouse over the connector, then click and drag towards the next activity. → A connection (edge) will be created between the activities.
    💡 Once connected you can freely move activities around. 
  • To disconnect an activity, click the delete icon ❌

Connect activities via their exit nodes. Note that also the "Start" needs to be connected.

BEST PRACTICE

  • Every workflow activity needs to be connected with at least one node in order for the workflow to be valid. Some activities have multiple exit nodes and may offer options for each node accordingly.
    💡 We always recommend handling every node so your workflow doesn't cause any dead-end or lost-call situations.
  • Note that deleting an activity will also remove any connectors to previously connected activities.
    💡 Make sure to check and re-establish these connections afterwards so no activity is 
 

Activity Properties / Activity Enable

  • Some activities have a toggle to be completely enabled or disabled.
  • They also have additional properties to unfold and configure via the property header.

Expanding an activity and setting it active

GOOD TO KNOW

  • A disabled workflow activity will act as if the step does not exist. The node to node connection (edge) will pass right through.
  • Toggles and Properties may be deactivated / locked via the Workflow Template your workflow is based on. To change this:
    • ... either an administrator needs to edit the template via the Administration > Configuration > Workflows.
    • ... or - if your workflow structure is not locked - you can replace the activity yourself, by adding identical activity from the list, which has no locked properties.

🔍 Please note: If your activities change state without your doing, chances are that an administrator has changed the related Workflow Template of your workflow instance.

 

Table of Contents