KNOWN LIMITATIONS - BULK EDITING
☝Bulk Editing is in active development. We are continuously updating this feature over the coming months.
☝Please read the following topics carefully to understand where the limitations lie. We also continuously update our Latest Release Notes whenever changes and improvements to this feature will be made.
🤔 Which features are available for Bulk Editing?
Bulk Editing - Services and Users only: This feature is currently intended to allow only service and user bulk editing. Further configuration entities will be made available at a later date.
| Entity | What can be changed in Bulk | What can't be changed in Bulk |
|---|---|---|
| Users |
|
|
| Services |
|
|
1 Changing User “Services” and “Roles” tabs are disabled during Bulk Editing. Changing roles would have large-scale implications on the existing Service Provisioning and User Assignment Types in Nimbus.
2 Cannot be changed in Bulk (yet) as these settings rely on many dependencies configured on additional tabs.
3 Addon licenses can be (un)assigned in bulk - same as via License Management. However, each service needs to be individually configured, as the related Settings tabs are not yet supported in Bulk Edit.
4 Must remain unique for the selected entities during bulk edit, e.g. due to a Service being fixed/synched to a "MS Teams-based" channel.
🤔 What design limitations are there?
💡By design: Listed below are active design decisions, please do not report these as issues.
☝ No Undo Option - Bulk editing does NOT provide any way of undoing your changes. We recommend making small changes at first to see the effects.
-
Maximum 25 entities can be edited at the same time.
- If the total number in a list is larger than 25, “Select All” is disabled.
- You can filter your entries below this threshold to apply changes.
- No bulk creation/deletion - While in bulk edit mode, entities cannot be mass created or deleted (as a precaution).
- Dependent change confirm - Certain features rely on dependencies (e.g. an applied change showing additional feature tabs). For this reason you need you to confirm pending tab changes first before applying further bulk changes.
💡Known Limitations: (technical limitations and issues that we already know about.)
-
Users with only Custom Roles assigned don't have the Bulk Edit feature available. → An “Organization Unit Admin Role" needs to be granted to Bulk Edit entities within the corresponding OU.
⮑ The OU entities that the Custom Role has access to cannot bulk edited due to a lack of permissions.

- “Disappearing” Details view - Confirming a bulk change via tab change shows a saving dialog as intended. However, the “Details” inspection feature was only visible on the previous tab bottom and thus cannot be shown on the new tab.
-
Limited Bulk Operation view - The “Details” of bulk operations - next to the “Save & Apply” button - only show a complete set of changes, not the delta changes.
🤔 Other things to consider?
With Bulk Editing it is possible to modify Organization Units of many entities (e.g. users) simultaneously. ☝ This will inevitably create “Non-Path References” (NPR) warnings in your UI.
What does Non-Path Reference mean?
A Non-Path Reference (NPR) is signaled with a small warning icon in the UI, indicating that “Reading along the path / up to the root” rules were violated with a prior Organization Units change on an entity.

🤔What is an entity? Anything configured within Nimbus that has its own OU - users, services, workflows, profiles, etc.
🤔Is there a risk to creating NPRs? Your existing Nimbus references (and related services) will continue to operate even with NPR warnings, but the changed entity (e.g. a OU-moved user) will not be visible for selection anymore once removed. All existing dependent entities (e.g. a service defining an “NPR” flagged user) will still consider this user for tasks distribution as long as the user itself is not actively removed from the configuration.
💡 Note that the Non-path Reference warning (caused when changing Organization Units) is currently not shown in the Roles tab. This is a known limitation and subject for future improvement.
🔎 Related Best Practices: We also recommend reading our Best Practices - Bulk Editing for tips and tricks as well as considerations before engaging with this feature. We will continuously update the page, alongside with any known limitations.