The "Users" view allows your to search, create and inspect Nimbus users. The availability of users is directly tied to your (Azure) user directory.
All Nimbus admins have access to the "Users" management view, limited to the respective tenant and with access restrictions set by Roles and Permissions. A partner admin may select in between different tenants to inspect the corresponding users.
This feature is still in experimental / beta stadium. Performance and usability are still being evaluated by our users. Bugs and changes may occur. Both scope and design may still change significantly.
The Users view consists of the following elements:
- A list of users with a search. You can search users by common or unique criteria such as @domain or their O365 ID.
- A user detail view, opened when clicking on or creating a user. The view is distinguished by several tabs as explained further below.
About Nimbus User Management
In this default mode of operation …
- … Team Owners act as "Service Administrators", able to access their Service Settings and Configuration.
- … Team Members act as "Service Users" for call distribution. Users can access User Settings.
- … each of these user roles is affixed to a certain set of Roles and Permissions - e.g. Read / Write rights on Configuration items and Service Settings.
- … the visibility of items visible to users is determined by their respective Organization Unit affiliation.
Outside of this default it is also possible to create services with different user assignment types via the Service Administration.
Known Issue - User synchronicity on deleted teams
When a MS Teams teams is removed manually - without prior Uninstallation of the related Nimbus service - the users are not shown within the user administration list anymore. However, the team and its members are still shown within Services until the Nimbus team is fully removed from Azure.
- In the user administration users will only be shown when part of at least one (still) operational service. This is synched with your tenant user directory and intended design.
- Nimbus keeps a history of the team members (retrieved from MS teams channel) even after the channel was removed from the teams client. To the User / Service Administrator this will appear as a mismatch of user count.
By default every user that is part of a Nimbus service gets added automatically. You can add new users manually from your Azure user directory, e.g. to inspect the user details and identify if the user is still related to a team.
Nimbus will add users to this list whenever a new service team is being provisioned.
By default Nimbus automatically creates users that are created during Service Provisioning. Users automatically provisioned via - or still assigned to - a service team cannot be deleted.
Users are only removed automatically when they were removed from the Azure user directory.
You can only delete users from the list if they were manually added by you or another administrator or are not part of a team anymore. A tooltip will inform you why deletion is not possible.
Existing User details
To inspect any existing user's details, click on the name. Several tabs with information will be shown.
Why can I not change these details? User details are provided by your Azure user directory. Changes are reflected when your local tenant administrator changes them.
The "General" tab shows the following details of a user:
|Column||Description / Purpose|
|Display name of the user, as shown in the Nimbus UI.|
The Organization Unit of this user.
Note: This determines the items the user can see within Nimbus, not necessarily reflecting which services or rights this user has.
|First Name||First Name - as provided by user directory.|
|Last Name||Last Name - as provided by user directory.|
User Principal Name to which calls get forwarded to by Nimbus.
|O365 ID||Azure / O365 ID under which the user is identified by.|
|Department||Department field (blank if not specified within Azure).|
|Using Switchboard Flag|
(Switchboard = Attendant Console)
Refer to the Attendant Console section for further info on how to use this product.
|Number of assigned teams|
Shows the amount of teams that this user is a part of.
The "Services" tab shows the Nimbus service teams the user is currently a part of:
|Column||Description / Purpose|
|Display name of the service as shown in the Nimbus UI. Can be changed via the Service Settings.|
Amount of users in total within that service.
|User Assignment Type|
Specifies how this user was assigned to a service (e.g. by a Microsoft Team)